

© Copyright 2011 by the American Chemical Society and the American Society of Pharmacognosy

Volume 74, Number 1

January 2011

Editorial

Changes for Volume 74

We wish to welcome Dr. Cedric Pearce, Mycosynthetix, Inc., Hillsborough, North Carolina, as a new Associate Editor for papers on the chemistry of terrestrial microbes submitted to the *Journal of Natural Products*. Dr. Pearce took up his new duties on behalf of the journal in April 2010 and has many years of relevant experience in both industry and academia. He is warmly welcomed to our editorial team. It is also noted that as of 2011, Dr. Norman R. Farnsworth, of the University of Illinois of Chicago, has served a total of 50 years on the Editorial Advisory Board of this journal and its predecessor, *Lloydia*. Congratulations, Dr. Farnsworth, and thanks for your many contributions on our behalf!

In March 2011, it will be a great pleasure to honor Dr. Koji Nakanishi, of Columbia University, via a special issue of the journal. Dr. Nakanishi has made seminal contributions to natural products chemistry over a superbly successful career. He has now served 30 years on the Editorial Advisory Board of the *Journal of Natural Products*. We are grateful to Drs. Michael Tempesta and Ben Liu for serving as Guest Editors for this initiative.

The first of two journal cover illustrations to be used in 2011 shows the ascidian *Didemnum molle*, which harbors a symbiotic bacterium, producing cyanobactin metabolites. This showcases the work of Dr. Eric Schmidt of the University of Utah, the winner of the Matt Suffness Award presented at the 51st Annual Meeting of the American Society of Pharmacognosy in July 2010. The second cover illustration will feature the stick insect *Anisomorpha buprestoides*, and its monoterpenoid constituents, and was provided by Dr. Aaron Dossey, United States Department of Agriculture, Lake Alfred, Florida.

The journal is transitioning to a new look in the presentation of its content, which we hope will be appealing to our readers. As part of this, the table of contents graphic will be included also as an article abstract graphic in the PDF version of the each paper. Another recent change is that the American Chemical Society (ACS) Journal Publishing Agreement has replaced the former ACS Copyright Status Form, and this new provision better explains the rights of authors in regard to the use of their manuscripts and also refers to certain patterns of behavior expected of authors of ACS publications and co-publications.

The Arthur E. Schwarting and Jack L. Beal Awards were introduced in 2001 for the best papers in the *Journal of Natural Products* and are named after two of our former editors. The winning papers from 2009 (selected in 2010) were as follows: Schwarting Award (open to all corresponding authors), Deborah M. Roll, Laurel R. Barbieri, Ramunas Bigelis, Leonard A. McDonald, Daniel A. Arias, Li-Ping Chang, Maya P. Singh, Scott W. Luckman, Thomas J. Berrodin, Matthew R. Yudt (*J. Nat. Prod.* 2009, 72, 1944–1948); Beal Award (contribution submitted by a younger investigator as corresponding author), Leena Pohjala, Sami Alakurtti, Tero Ahola, Jari Yli-Kauhaluoma, Päivi Tammela (*J. Nat. Prod.* 2009, 72, 1917–1926). Kudos to Drs. Roll and Tammela and their coauthors! Full versions of these papers and those of all past winners of the Schwarting and Beal Awards may be readily accessed on the journal web page (http://pubs.acs.org/jnprdf).

A. Douglas Kinghorn,

Editor-in-Chief

NP100882H